Principal Investigator: Ned Kalin

Kalin_Ned 3.11.16

Ned H. Kalin, MD

Hedberg Professor and Chair
Department of Psychiatry
University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health

Dr. Kalin is among the most accomplished biological psychiatrists in the field. His research combines molecular, preclinical animal models, and human functional imaging studies to elucidate the mechanisms underlying the pathophysiology of anxiety and affective disorders. His work focuses on using translational models in nonhuman primates to elucidate early life mechanisms underlying the development of anxiety and depression. This work combines selective lesion strategies with functional brain imaging to demonstrate the importance of amygdala, bed nucleus of the stria terminalis, and the orbitofrontal cortex in mediating maladaptive responses to stress. Using the nonhuman primate, he has also established early markers of the risk to develop psychopathology, which has proved to be relevant to understanding risk in children. Recent studies in primates demonstrate the molecular underpinnings within the central nucleus of the amygdala that underlie early risk. Specifically, mRNA studies demonstrate alterations in the expression of neuroplasticity systems in young primates with high levels of dispositional anxiety. In rodent models, he has pursued the mechanism identified in nonhuman primates, and in humans he has performed imaging studies related to understanding mechanisms underlying emotion regulation. He is currently translating findings from his nonhuman primate studies to young children by examining alterations in brain regions underlying emotion regulation in children with high levels of anxious temperament. Taken together, his studies underscore the brain mechanisms underlying adaptive and maladaptive emotion regulation and the importance of emotion regulation in understanding individual differences related to risk for the development of stress-related psychopathology.

Professional Education:

  • Medical School: 1976-1979, Jefferson Medical College, Philadelphia, PA
  • Residency: 1979-1981, Department of Psychiatry, University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health
  • Fellow: 1981-1983, Neuropsychopharmacology, National Institute of Mental Health


Research Activities – Current Funding:

  • Principal Investigator: Extreme Anxiety in Females: The Role of the Bed Nucleus of the Stria Terminalis (BST) During the Transition to Adolescence in Human and Nonhuman Primates. R01MH107563, National Institute of Mental Health, $3,486,288, 2015 – 2020
  • Principal Investigator: Development and Regulation of Emotion in Primates. R01MH046729, National Institute of Mental Health,$3,938,067, 2012 – 2017
  • Principal Investigator: Brain Mechanisms Mediating Genetic Risk Factors for Anxiety and Depression. R01MH081884-06. National Institute of Mental Health, $4,192,636, 2013 – 2018
  • Subproject on a Silvio O. Conte Center for Interdisciplinary Research on Early Neurodevelopment Origins of Anxiety: Neural Mechanisms Mediating Adversity’s Impact on the Risk for Developing Anxiety. P50 MH100031, National Institute of Mental Health. Estimated total 5-year cost: $2,533,702, 2013 – 2018

Major National Leadership Positions (past 5 years):

  • 2016, Editorial Board, Personalized Medicine in Psychiatry
  • 2016, Editorial Board, Biological Psychiatry: Cognitive Neuroscience and Neuroimaging
  • 2015, Distinguished Fellow of the American Psychiatric Association
  • 2015, Member, National Academy of Medicine (formerly known as Institute of Medicine)
  • 2015, Board of Scientific Advisors, Pritzker Neuropsychiatric Disorders Research Consortium
  • 2015-2018, Council on Research, American Psychiatric Association
  • 2015, Anna-Monika Prize, Anna-Monika Foundation, European College of Neuropsychopharmacology
  • 2014-2015 President, Society of Biological Psychiatry
  • 2013, Fellow, American Association for the Advancement of Science
  • 2012-Present, Executive Council, Society of Biological Psychiatry
  • 2012-2016, Scientific Council, Anxiety and Depression Association of America
  • 2012, Distinguished Psychiatrist Lecturer, American Psychiatric Association